Glutenfree Vegan Easter Bundt Cake

Happy April, happy Easter!

Time is rushing. The new semester is knocking at the door and one quarter of 2015 is already done. I received the great news that I passed a huge exam and I’m beyond relieved.

As it’s the Easter weekend I decided to bake something. It has been far too long, and since I’m off gluten baking became a merely rare occupation of mine. I used to love baking – like seriously!! Easter and carrots go hand in hand to me. Carrots are among my favourite foods. They are handy, all-year-round available, healthy (1 cup carrot slices contains about 113% of your recommended daily amount of vitamin A, and also good amounts of biotin, vitamin k, fiber and B vitamins) and so versatile! I love them plain, steamed, mashed, pureed, grated in oats, dipped in hummus and used in cake.

So here we go …. Glutenfree Vegan Easter Bundt Cake

The recipe is a mix of several recipes I used before. I adjusted ingredients and proportions according to my own preferences so it became a new recipe. It’s an all-occasion cake with medium texture, not too moist but neither dry. There are nuts involved that create a nice and tart crunch. The nutty flavour is further enhanced by some buckwheat flour.

IMG_5571

The recipe serves about 8 portions

The ingredients are:

  • 200 g of gluten free flour (~ 1.6 cups)
  • 100 g buckwheat flour (~ 0.8 cup)
  • 100 g sugar (0.5 cup) 
  • 3 tbsp baking powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • 100 ml vegetable oil (~ 0.42 cup)
  • 200 ml soy milk (~ 0.85 cup)
  • 100 ml water (~0.42 cup)
  • some vanilla powder / essence 
  • 1 large grated carrot
  • a nice amount of mixed chopped nuts. I used pistachios and cashews! (please more than I used in the picture!!)

IMG_5572

(The weird cup measurements occur due to conditional conversions. Conversion factors are different depending on the particular ingredients as they are of different desity)

Preheat the oven to 350° F / 160° C if needed. Modern ovens don’t need this, so it’s totally okay for probably most of you to just start when you are done mixing the ingredients.

You will start to combine all dry ingredients: the flours, baking soda, salt and sugar.

In another bowl combine soy milk, water, oil, vanilla and the grated carrot. I always need to peel two carrots as I end up snacking at least half of it. Ooops…

Then, quickly mix both dry and liquid ingredients plus the chopped up with a wooden spoon. Don’t overdo it as the baking soda will start its reaction immediately!

Put it in a Bundt pan. Grease before if necessary. I’m usually going for silicon pans so this step isn’t needed after all.

Bake for about 35 minutes and let cool in the pan. Then: slice, indulge and be merry.

Happy Easter!!IMG_5560

nutritional info:

1/8 of the cake contains approximately 335 calories, 43 g carbs, 17 g fat, 5 g each protein and fiber.

Kommentar verfassen

