About Being Sensitive Towards Certain Foods I + Healthy [Protein Rich] Vegan Cookie Dough

Finally, it’s Saturday! I was working a lot this week and relied on easy and quick food options. My current food choices aren’t as much varying as I want them to be, honestly speaking, due to abdominal cramps and digestive complaints… Long story. Food intolerances suck – amen.

[If you are vegan and you are dealing with food intolerances too please let me know more about how you are handling them and how you are eating! Thanks!!]

I’m really happy that chickpeas are on my current „okay“- list. By current I’m alluding to the fact that in my case food sensitivenesses are rather flux. Variety is a key here. Although I’m still attracted by the idea of „mono meals“, originating from the high carb vegan movement, I really rely on variety. When I eat oats each day, I can tell you that after a week or two I will start to react with bloating or other delicate symptoms. The same already happened with millet, corn, bananas AND most recently: carrots. Yes, you’ve heard me right carrots. I never thought this was going to happen. I know it won’t be like this forever, however, it will take some time to recover. The quintessence out of this for me is that I try to circle around with my safe foods. I’m having oats one day, rice the following. I’m having spelt pasta (somehow I’m okay with them) the one night and go for amaranth the next. Veggies are the dark green ones like spinach, kale, broccoli. I eat lettuce each day but make sure I’m eating different types. The same applies to the nuts I eat and also tempeh, tofu and tvp.

But for now, back to the chickpeas. Chickpeas are a great source of plant protein, dietary fiber, magnesium and folate. Sadly, nutritional value information varies for reasons I didn’t figure yet. You will find one brand claiming to be 79 calories each 100 grams and another being as high as 164 calories for the same amount of chickpeas. I was considering that it depends on the cooking process, however, I can only guess.

FullSizeRender

Since I’m currently watching my protein intake, I’m adding some vegan protein powder to this recipe. However, it is totally optional. I’m using either pea protein isolate or some vegan blend (rice / pea / hemp). I’ve one with chocolate flavour and in case you are using a flavoured one too, you are probably not relying on any additional sweetener.

Measurements can totally be adjusted to individual preferences. I will only give you some rough guidelines here!

You will need:

  • 200 grams of chickpeas (7 oz)
  • 50 – 60 ml of soy milk (0.25 – 0.3 cup)
  • a bit extra water for smoother consistency 
  • 0.5 – 1 scoop of your preferred protein powder (optional!!)
  • flavour drops or agave nectar (if using unflavoured protein)
  • extra toppings like unsweetened cocoa, coconut flakes, cocoa nibs, chia seeds etc.

The only instruction is basically to blend all ingredients but the topping(s).
That’s so simple! Blend it, put it into a bowl or have it right from the blender and indulge!

Have a nice v – eekend,

Venna

Cookie Dough

Ein Gedanke zu “About Being Sensitive Towards Certain Foods I + Healthy [Protein Rich] Vegan Cookie Dough

Kommentar verfassen

